In the pace of rapid urbanization and growing demand for housing and commercial spaces, the New Town, Kolkata was created in the eastern outskirts of Kolkata to serve the dual purposes of:

  • establishing new business centre to reduce the mounting pressure on the existing Central Business Districts (CBD) and
  • increasing housing stock supply by creating new residential units.

The New Town Kolkata Development Authority has been constituted under The New Town Kolkata Development Authority Act, 2007 (The West Bengal Act XXX of 2007) for rendering various civic services and amenities within New Town, Kolkata and it has come into effect since November, 2008.

The New Town Kolkata Development Authority Act, 2007, was passed by the West Bengal Legislature and the assent thereto of the President of India and it was published in the Kolkata Gazette Extraordinary of the 30th June, 2008 vide Notification No. 1088-L dated 27th June, 2008.

This Act has come into effect, retrospectively, from 28th December, 2006 and it extends to the whole New Town Kolkata area as described in Schedule-I appended to this Act.

The area of entire township is comprised of 34 Mouzas (both part and full) falling in areas of Airport Police Station, Rajarhat Police Station and Kolkata Leather Complex Police Station.

The Development Authority has been vested with the various powers and functions under the said Act.

NKDA had initially started functioning from its office at 03, MAR. New Town, Kolkata -700156 and subsequently due to expansion of its activities another office of NKDA has started functioning from 01, MAR. New Town, Kolkata -700156

It is a transitional arrangement in the way of creation of an Urban Local Body (ULB).

Source: New Town Kolkata, Development Authority West Bengal   |   Last Updated on: 15-11-2022   |   You are visitor counter

you are now redirecting to another website